It so occurred to me that I spend a lot my time analyzing capital, when what really puts a block between people in society is meaningful communication. How can I really have such a hardnosed analysis of how capital alienates, when the direction that would better suit the needs of everyone is to really practice communication.

Communication is the source of most troubles in relationships. And why should we presume that society’s troubles do not start at interpersonal (and inner-personal) levels? I am not talking about how to communicate ideas with other people, or how to write or blog effectively. I want to know how to communicate face-to-face and through actual relationships with other people. How to create experiences that are meaningful. How are people treated, how are they accepted, and how are they rejected? What do we want out of communicating with other people, and how can this improve ourselves?

Analyzing capital helps you better understand the material and metaphysical forces that are at play in society, and hence, you understand (indirectly) how capital affects relationships. But knowing that capital alienates is not the same as knowing how to de-alienate ourselves through meaningful practices. It seems knowing that without knowing how makes these conditions worse, because it’s like knowing the world is about to end without knowing how to enjoy yourself in spite of it. Knowing that capital is intensely recuperative, for example, has put a damper on many of my own relationships that might have otherwise flourished, and prevented me from really seeing the singularities in other people. It has prevented me from being happy unless there are other drives at play. Capital analysis essentially was my practice. But how can analysis be practice? I think is also the practice of many intellectually-minded, searching people who, like me, live in large industrialized nations.

I am going to take a break from analyzing capital, and other forms of analysis, until I believe I have a better practice and a better understanding of how to live.

(I hope you enjoy the new blog theme: “Structure”. The old one was getting, well, old.)